Another fail (of sorts) and a new challenge

OK so the 30 takeaway free days challenge has not been achieved. That’s OK as the reason it was not achieved was a bloody good one. It has been Father’s day this weekend and normally I would take my dad out for Sunday lunch or cook one for him. However this Father’s day fell on the day that the demons have contact with their own father.

My dad would rather spend time with all of us so we compromised and had an early Father’s Day on the Saturday. We were going to go out but the eldest demon did not get home from his Beavers sleepover until after 7pm. I asked the man of the hour what he wanted to do and what he wanted to do was have a Chinese takeaway and a few glasses of wine with his family. He’s a simple man my Dad and I love him loads so that’s exactly what we did. Technically a fail but I think it was a win 🙂

Tickle time!

I think I will try to carry on the challenge anyway as it ties in with my next challenge.  DG is staying over this week as there are still last-minute things that need doing to the house. Pictures to hang, toilets to plumb in, gardens to machete.. that sort of thing. I have a fridge and freezer full of food and another fridge full of booze. There is no reason why we should need to buy anything other than fresh bread/milk etc for the whole week. So we won’t. We have set a limit of £100 in total to be spent between us for the whole week. Nothing more.  I have already set up a spreadsheet to track every penny spent. It could be less but DG needs petrol and we do have a family birthday and a summer fair at school to deal with.

Hopefully this will make us more aware of where the money goes on a day-to-day basis. It should be a week with no major purchases which is why I picked it. Normally I spend about £100 per week at the supermarket alone!

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Extra challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment