Another 48 hours

The past 48 hours have been pretty hectic actually.  There has been the usual demon-wrangling, the laundry mountain to tackle, the feeding of the demons which is a 5 times a day sort of thing. There has also been the fitting of the new flooring in the kitchen. This replaces the one damaged by the man who came to fit my dishwasher.  Thanks to their guilt and a discount from my cousin I’ve ended up with much better quality flooring than I had before. Now I have real wood flooring, it looks fabulous 🙂

However it did mean that the kitchen was out of use yesterday and that we had to stay in. Not usually a problem but the weather refused to co-operate and the demons could not play outside but instead decided to throttle each other repeatedly as they fought over who was going to be Obi Wan when they were playing Starwars Lego on their PS2. A quick intervention by the Sith Mummy put paid to that as they found out that neither of them would be Obi Wan and the Playstation would be off-limits for the rest of the day.

At this point they decided that they were on the very edge of starvation and as I was unable to get into the kitchen and their behaviour was not sufficiently good for them to be taken out for lunch I decided to go to a local sandwich shop. It wasn’t particularly late but there was very little left but I duly ordered them a cheese sarnie. It was apparently the wrong sort of cheese *rolls eyes* I think it was the wrong sort of day to be honest.

Finally at 2:55 the floor was done and the fitter left the house. Floor looking suitable fabulous, demons looking decidedly grubby, timing for going for a coffee with a friend not looking good at all.  However we did make it there in the end and we gossiped a bit and had coffee whilst approximately 89 children (or so it seemed) played in and around her house. It’s a comfort to know that I am not alone in having a total madhouse 🙂

Then homewards to cook dinner in the kitchen, trying not to step on the areas that may still have glue that needed to settle. Not an easy task but dinner was made and consumed, cleared away and before the demons could moan more than 8 times they were whisked into the car and taken to Asda in search of vest tops for me. The ones I have are reaching the point that the faded to grey black ones and the too many times washed grey white ones are almost indistinguishable.

Finally we got back home and  the rest of the evening was spent sorting out final bits of paperwork and things for my trip to Washington tomorrow.  It would have been a more restful night if we had not received a text message and phone call from The Controller (DG’s brother) informing us that there had been an earthquake in Washington.  Marvellous timing, last year Volcano problems, this year Earthquakes… God help the Eastern Seaboard if I decide to go Stateside next year.. LoL

Once the demons were finally in bed and the wine poured DG and I watched “In Bruges” for the first time. Well we sort of watched it and sort of shrieked every 30 seconds as we recognised something, someone or a dog that we had seen on our recent trip to the city. It added an additional element to a film that was already very funny and helped get us into the holiday spirit.

That is until I woke up sobbing in the middle of the night following the most horrendous dream about being forcibly separated from the demons. I then spent a couple of hours tossing and turning as I was wracked with guilt about leaving them. It will be the longest I have ever been away from them. More than that, I will be on the other side of the world.  I know that they will be safe. They have my dad looking after them and Nonny, who not only adores them but is a trained nurse and is fully versed in the younger demon’s condition, she often accompanies me to clinics.  I have contacted the relevant healthcare people and have a full list of information that will be needed on the off-chance that something does happen. It’s a remote chance but one you have to prepare for.  In short everything is in place but I still feel guilty and I will miss them more than I can express.

I decided that today would be spent with the boys and that we would have lucky time. That’s quality time to everyone else I suppose but in the Netherhells it’s lucky 🙂 I finalised the packing then we went to McD’s for lunch, fed the ducks, played in the park and had ice cream.  We have chatted and hugged and made promises to send postcards and buy fridge magnets for the giant fridge of doom. We have said how much we will miss each other and sniffled a bit.

I am dreading dropping them off at my Dad’s later this evening.  Then again they were going anyway. I should make this clear, they are not just going to my Dad’s, they are going for a week in a specially adapted caravan on the Northumberland coast. They will be playing on the beach, exploring the countryside and the castles and generally having a whale of a time. Plus being spoilt rotten by dad and Nonny. This was booked before my trip to Washington,  they are not being palmed off whilst I am off gallivanting.  Rather they are buggering off and leaving me and I am taking advantage of the time to visit my future in-laws.

I’m going to have a great time 😀 I’m going to bloody miss them though… 😦

 

 

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Disability, General DemonWrangling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment